Home Tested: Wife Approved · The DIY'er

DIY Dishwasher Detergent

20130609-154106.jpg

“I traded my dreams for crap I can’t even put in the dishwasher”

While I was making my own laundry detergent, I decided to give DIY Dishwasher detergent a try! With a few ingredients and a few minutes, I whipped up a quick batch and made over a jar full!!

(A recipe to turn the powder into dishwasher detergent cubes to follow soon!!)

Find the DIY Laundry Detergent recipes here:

DIY Liquid Laundry Detergent

DIY Dry Laundry Detergent

Homemade Dishwasher Detergent:

1 cup Borax
1 cup washing soda
½ cup kosher salt
1 cup Lemishine (found next to the rinse aids in the dishwasher aisle)

Mix everything together and store in a plastic container or jar.

Use 1 Tbsp per load. Use white vinegar as a rinse aid to help reduce water spots. I’ve also added just a drop of Dawn Dish Soap to the detergent compartment for an added boost of cleanliness!!

Note: This recipe will clump. To reduce clumping, add a few tablespoons of rice in a cheese cloth and tie it. Another option is to add a packet of silica gel into the jar (the little packets that say “do not eat” and are found in many products to help keep freshness!)

20130609-155232.jpg

20130609-155257.jpg

20130609-155310.jpg

20130609-155326.jpg

20130609-155342.jpg

20130609-155356.jpg

2 thoughts on “DIY Dishwasher Detergent

  1. Can you tell me why the salt is added?? I had a recipe I found on Pinterest a long time ago (that I can not find now) that was only the borax, soda & walmart brand dishwasher powder. when I went on my search I only find this one.

    1. Hi! I’ve seen many versions of this recipe that call for the use of Kosher salt or Epsom salts. It is said to help with hard water stains! Depending on your own personal preference, I’m sure the recipe will work just as great if you decide to leave the salt out! 🙂

Leave a Reply

