Home Tested: Wife Approved · The DIY'er

DIY Dry Laundry Detergent

20130528-041741.jpg

“Laundry! Grocery Shopping! Carpool! And it’s not even my birthday!”

As I said in my previous post for my new “Home Tested: Wife Approved” category, I decided to try my hand at making some DIY home cleaners! With 3 ingredients, $10, and minutes to prepare, I made my own detergent, 3 ways!! (I felt so frugal and proud lol) I’m always a fan of saving money and feeling accomplished! 🙂
So, I present to you, my awesome readers, the second recipe for homemade detergent! Happy Washing 🙂
Find the recipe here for DIY Liquid Laundry Detergent

Homemade Dry Laundry Detergent:
Prep time: 15 mins

Ingredients:

1 bar Fels-Naptha soap, grated
(I used 2/3rds of the bar of soap, from what was left from making the liquid detergent)
1 cup of borax
1 cup of washing soda

Instructions
Shred your bar of soap with a grater or food processor.
Mix one cup of borax, one cup of washing soda and the grated soap in a large bowl until incorporated well.
Store in a glass jar or well-sealed plastic container.

Use 1 tablespoon per load or 2 tablespoons for heavily soiled loads.

20130528-042115.jpg

20130528-042139.jpg

20130528-042159.jpg

20130528-042216.jpg

20130528-042235.jpg

Leave a Reply

