Home Tested: Wife Approved · The DIY'er

DIY Liquid Laundry Detergent

20130528-001739.jpg

“I did all the laundry and cleaned the house, and then I felt like killing someone”

Being the “crazy pinning lady” that I am, and with there being so many recipes available for homemade cleaners, I decided to give my hand a try at some DIY cleaning products! I was so intrigued by the idea of making something that is said to be quick, easy, cheap, and just as good as/better than the store-bought version! Bonus!!
So with a few ingredients, a few supplies, and some DIY ambition, I spent half an hour one night, and only $10 to make 2 gallons of liquid detergent, some dry laundry detergent, and over a jar full of dishwasher detergent!!! AND I have enough ingredients left to make everything at least once more!!!
So I present to you first, the recipe for liquid laundry detergent! It takes minutes to prep and costs only pennies per wash!! Hope you enjoy!! 🙂

Homemade Laundry Detergent:

1 Box of Borax
1 Box of Washing Soda
1 Bar Fels Naptha Soap

Shred 1/3 of the Fels Naptha soap bar into a pot of 6 cups of water.
Cook on the stove until the soap is melted.
Stir in 1/2 cup of borax and 1/2 cup of washing soda.
Pour 4 cups of hot water into the bucket or jar where your soap will be stored.
Add the soap to the water and mix.
Add one gallon of water plus six cups of water to the soap mixture.
Allow the soap to sit and settle for 24 hours before using. Don’t be alarmed of the consistency, (mine had separated and looked like a big, fluffy cloud) just give it a good stir and you’re good to go!!

Use 1/2 cup of detergent per load. Happy Washing!!!

Stay tuned for many new home recipes!! Coming soon!!

20130528-041036.jpg

20130528-041048.jpg

20130528-041103.jpg

20130528-041123.jpg

20130528-041146.jpg

2 thoughts on “DIY Liquid Laundry Detergent

    1. Hi! I, personally, have had absolutely no problems with this detergent! It’s worked great for me! 🙂 I hope it works great for you also 🙂
      I’m also planning to make a large batch of powdered detergent (coming soon) with Oxyclean for an added boost! 🙂

Leave a Reply

