The Chef

Banana Bread

20121101-093815.jpg

“Expiration dates are for the weak”

Around the holidays, I’m in full-on baking mode! I could bake everyday! Fall is the time of year that I really wish I had a sense of smell. I’m always baking away and filling the house with yummy aromas! For me, certain seasons bring a craving for certain foods. In Winter, mint and chocolate just sound amazing! In Fall, pumpkin comes out of hibernation and appears in everything. Banana is also a delicious recipe staple this time of year! When I have less-than-pretty bananas around the house, they go in food instead of the trash. I must say, my new absolute favorite Fall treat would have to be the Banana Bread Brownies!! Find that recipe here:
Banana Bread Brownies With Brown Butter Frosting
But, this time, I decided to stick to the classics and give good-old-fashioned banana bread a try!! Hope you enjoy it!! It’s absolutely delicious, especially with my cinnamon butter recipe!! Find that recipe here: Cinnamon Butter

Banana Bread:

1/2 c. butter
2 eggs
1 c. white sugar
1 tsp. vanilla extract
1 c. ripe mashed bananas
1 tsp. cinnamon
1 tsp. baking soda
1/2 tsp. salt
1/2 c. sour cream
1-1/2 c. sifted flour
2 Tbsp Applesauce
1/2 c. chopped walnuts or chopped pecans (optional)

Preheat oven to 350°F.
Mix: butter, eggs, sugar, vanilla in a bowl and mix until creamy.

Add: bananas, cinnamon and mix well.

Add: baking soda, salt, sour cream, flour, and applesauce. mix until all smooth.

Pour into a greased and floured loaf pan.

Bake at 350°F for 1 hour until done.
Enjoy!!! 🙂

20121101-145203.jpg

20121101-145215.jpg

Leave a Reply

