Pinspiration: Nailed or Failed · The Chef

Easiest Caramel Sauce Ever

20121023-103902.jpg

“WTF???”

This picture made me giggle and it was the perfect way to describe this next “Pinspired” experiment. I thought the same thing and probably had the same expression on my face!!
I always hear or say: “I saw it on Pinterest”. I say it all the time lately when friends ask where I heard of or got the idea for something. This one sounded too weird to be true: Caramel in a can. The pin claimed that all you had to do was cook a can of sweetened condensed milk in the crockpot, and Voila!!
I was skeptical, but I had to test it out! It only took a minute to set everything up, the waiting and anticipation were the hardest parts. To see if I’d have a new recipe or a new sarcastic Pin Pic (the funny attempts that turn out nothing like they were supposed to and all you can do is laugh!)
As I opened the little can the next day, I was in shock that it actually worked!!
Pinterest Verdict: Nailed It!!! 🙂

Easiest Caramel Sauce:

1 Can Sweetened Condensed Milk
Water

Take an unopened can of sweetened condensed milk. Remove outside wrapper. Place can in a crockpot and add enough water to completely cover the can. Cook on low for 8 hours. Add more water if necessary. Carefully remove the can and place in refrigerator for at least 2 hours to cool down. Open the can and transfer to a container or a Mason Jar.
That’s it!! I added the caramel sauce to an apple pie I was making and it was delicious!!! (I will also be sharing that recipe) Homemade caramel sauce for $1.50…You can’t beat it!! I have a few “fancy” sauce recipes I want to try, but I will definitely make this one again!! 🙂

20121023-111144.jpg

20121023-112554.jpg

Leave a Reply

